Jean Laurent

Contacts

+32 (0)2 542 02 49
Secretary (Sylvianne Gilson)
+32 (0)2 542 02 53

Biography

Jean Laurent has been a member of the Brussels Bar since 1997. He holds a law degree with, a public and administrative law option, awarded in 1997 by the Universite Libre de Bruxelles, and a “Certificate in legal studies” granted by the Aberdeen University. He obtained the title of Specialist in Public and Administrative Law issued by the Brussels Bar in 2009.

He is also a member of the Commission of Public Law of the Brussels Bar and frequently participates in conferences or seminars organized in public and administrative law. He is co-author of a book on public service litigation and author of articles on administrative law.

He practices the law of public procurement, civil service, planning and the environment, municipal law and education law for both administrations and companies or individuals. To this end, he appeart  before administrative authorities, the Constitutional Court, the Council of State or the ordinary state courts .

Education

  • Law degree at the University of Brussels – June 1997
  • Certificate in Legal Studies – Aberdeen University – January 1997

Professional experience

  • Lawyer at the Brussels Bar – from October 1997 to date
  • Partner in charge of the public law department within CEW & Partners since  April 1st, 2007
  • Recognition by the French Bar Association as a of  specialist in administrative law since 2009
  • Member of the Commission of Public Law of the Brussels Bar since 2007
  • Legal adviser to the Council of the Architects’ Association 2012-2013
  • Visiting Professor at the Cooremans Institute 2014-2015

Languages

French, English and Dutch

Publications

  • Articles relating to the public service litigation for IFE Articles in the newspaper Union and Action of the UCM.

Jean Laurent

Contacts

+32 (0)2 542 02 49
Secrétariat (Sylvianne Gilson)
+32 (0)2 542 02 53

Biographie

Jean Laurent est avocat au barreau de Bruxelles depuis 1997.  Il dispose d’une licence en droit, option droit public et administratif, délivrée en 1997 par l’ULB et d’un « Certificate in legal studies » délivré par l’Université d’Aberdeen.  Il obtient le titre de spécialiste en droits public et administratif délivré par le barreau en 2009.

Il est également membre de la commission de droit public du barreau de Bruxelles et intervient fréquemment dans des colloques ou formations organisés en droit public et administratif.  Il est co-auteur d’un livre relatif au contentieux de la fonction publique et auteur d’articles relatifs au droit administratif.

Il pratique le droit des marchés publics, de la fonction publique, de l’urbanisme et de l’environnement, le droit communal et le droit de l’enseignement tant pour des administrations que des sociétés ou des particuliers. A cette fin, il gère des procédures devant des autorités administratives, devant la Cour Constitutionnelle, le Conseil d’Etat ou les Cours et tribunaux de l’ordre judiciaire.

Formation

  • Licence en droit à l’Université de Bruxelles – juin 1997
  • Certificate in Legal studies – Aberdeen University – janvier 1997

Expériences professionnelles

  • Avocat au barreau de Bruxelles – d’octobre 1997 à ce jour
  • Partner en charge du département de droit public au sein du cabinet CEW & Partners depuis le 1er avril 2007
  • Reconnaissance par l’Ordre français des avocats du Barreau de Bruxelles du titre de « spécialiste » en droit administratif depuis 2009
  • Membre de la Commission de droit public du Barreau de Bruxelles depuis 2007
  • Assesseur juridique auprès du conseil de l’ordre des architectes 2012-2013
  • Professeur invité auprès de l’Institut Cooremans 2014-2015

Langues

Français, Anglais et Néerlandais

Publications

  • Articles relatifs au contentieux de la fonction publique pour IFE Articles dans le journal Union et Action de l’UCM